Editor’s Note:  We would like to give an extended welcome to Celestino “Sal” Ramirez.  He will be providing occasional reviews and interviews as a contributor for Madness To Creation.  Coming up, he will give us his insight on the upcoming Dying Fetus record entitled “Not One To F*** With”, which is due out June 23rd.  In the meantime, Foghat will be releasing the physical CD version of “Live At The Belly Up” on June 30th wherever records are sold.  Go to www.foghat.net for pre-sales and further information in regards to the band.  Here is Sal’s debut! 

They say that age is nothing but a number and that couldn’t be farther from the truth when it comes to the legendary band Foghat.  In their latest album, “Live At The Belly Up”, in which the physical CD version is to be released on June 30th, they prove that they can still rock harder than most musicians half their age.

The current members of Foghat are Charlie Huhn on vocals and guitars, Brian Bassett on lead guitar, Craig MacGregor on bass, and founding member Roger Earl on drums.  “Live At The Belly Up” consists of ten tracks that put the listener in a mental front row seat to a rock and roll smorgasbord of boogie, blues, and rock anthems.

The CD begins with the 1970’s classic “Fool For The City” and blends into the rocking “Eight Days On The Road”, both of which showcase Charlie’s vocals and Brian’s red-hot guitar solos.  Next, is “Under The Influence” and then the rock-n-roll boogie song “Stone Blue”, in which you cannot help but find your toes tapping and head nodding to the rhythm.

Other notable tracks include “Hot Mama”, which is a rock-n-roll song with boogie undertones, and a slowed down version of the classic “I Wanna Make Love To You”, before they introduce the full-on version,  and of course “Slow Ride”, which any fan of the cult classic “Dazed and Confused” will instantly recognize.

After the passing of some of the original members of Foghat and several lineup changes, these gentlemen carry the torch with the gusto and confidence of an Olympic athlete.  They represent and pull off what was right about Foghat and do the music justice.  You can hear and feel them playing well together like a well-oiled machine, never slipping and always pushing forward.  They give the songs a touch and sense that only comes from years of playing and crafting their talent.  This is a live album that should please old fans, gain some new fans, and with the CD flowing seamlessly from track to track, they will take their listeners on anything but a “Slow Ride”!  Check out the track listing for “Live At The Belly Up”!

  1.  “Fool For The City/Eight Days On The Road”
  2.  “Under The Influence”
  3.  “Stone Blue”
  4.  “Driving Wheel”
  5.  “Knock It Off”
  6.  “Terraplane Blues”
  7.  “Hot Mama”
  8.  “California Blues”
  9.  “I Just Wanna Make Love To You”
  10.  “Slow Ride”

Foghat fans can catch their available tour dates here:

Thursday, June 29th at Summerfest in Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Friday, June 30th at The Golden Nugget Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada

Saturday, July 1st at Lisle Eyes To The Skies in Lisle, Illinois

Sunday, July 2nd at The Village at Copper Mountain in Copper Mountain, Colorado

Friday, July 7th at Gettysburg Bike Week in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania

Saturday, July 8th at Greenville Lions Park in Greenville, Wisconsin (appearing with George Thorogood and Grand Funk Railroad)

Saturday, July 15th at Windsor Blues Festival in Windsor, Ontario, Canada

Saturday, July 22nd at Delaware State Fair in Harrington, Delaware (appearing with Pure Prairie League, Pat Travers, Atlanta Rhythm Section, and Rare Earth)

Thursday, July 27th at Washington County Fair in Hillsboro, Oregon (appearing with Blue Oyster Cult)

Sunday, July 30th at Tulalip Amphitheatre in Tulalip, Washington

Saturday, August 5th at Firelake Fireflight Balloon Festival in Shawnee, Oklahoma

Thursday, August 10th at Illinois State Fair in Springfield, Illinois

Friday, August 11th at Diamond Jo Casino in Dubuque, Iowa

Saturday, August 12th at East Coast Motorcycle Rally in Little Orleans, Maryland

Friday, August 18th at Chase County Fair in Imperial, Nebraska

Friday, August 25th at DTE Energy Music Theater in Clarkston, Michigan (w/ Jeff Foxworthy and Larry The Cable Guy)

Saturday, August 26th at Klipsch Music Center in Noblesville, Indiana (w/ Jeff Foxworthy and Larry The Cable Guy)

Sunday, September 3rd at Walworth County Fair in Elkhorn, Wisconsin

Monday, September 4th at Sausalito Arts Festival in Sausalito, California

Friday, September 15th at PNC Music Pavilion in Charlotte, North Carolina (w/ Jeff Foxworthy and Larry The Cable Guy)

Sunday, September 17th at Lodi Grape Festival in Lodi, California

Sunday, September 24th at Veijas Casino in Alpine, California

Saturday, October 14th at Family Arena in St. Charles, Missouri (w/ Fire Fall and Pure Prairie League)

Thursday, October 19th at Rock 104 night at South Mississippi Fair in Hattiesburg, Mississippi

Saturday, October 21st at Rockers, Riders, and Ribs Festival in Longview, Texas

Sunday, October 22nd at Dosey Doe Dinner Club at The Woodlands, Texas

Thursday, October 26th- Thursday, November 2nd at Barcelo Resort at Riviera Maya, Mexico

Friday, October 27th- Friday, November 3rd at Hard Rock Hotel Resort in Riviera Maya, Mexico

Saturday, October 28th- Saturday, November 4th at Unico Resort in Riviera Maya, Mexico

Saturday, November 11th at Boulder Station Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada

Go to www.foghat.net for tickets, news, and further information on Foghat!

Check out “Fool For The City/Eight Days On The Road” here!




Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.