Eulogy by Vaultry

Out of Victoria, British Columbia, Canada is a post-hardcore/alternative rock band that has gone through a plethora of heartbreak and tragedy and they proceeded to literally pour their guts and soul into this album while taking a sledgehammer and jamming it into the listener’s stomach so you can feel what they feel, that band is Vaultry.

Vaultry is composed of Leith Hynds on vocals, Damian Anthony on guitars, Skye McLean on drums, Bradford Davis on guitars, and Joel Christiansen on bass.  They have taken heartache, confusion, loss, and tragedy and every emotion associated with this and wrote this album for the late band member Chasen Fraser.  In a brief biography, Chasen Fraser was one who faced many challenges in his life, growing up transgender and being diagnosed with lymphoma before succumbing after a courageous fight.  This is one of the most emotional records I have ever heard, especially after learning about Vaultry.

“Eulogy” starts off with the title track that sounds full of sorrow yet feelings of worship at the same time.  What I mean by worship is music that allows the listener to connect to “that place” and make it very contemplative and meditative.  The lyrics are so touching in this title track: You said as you left, “don’t walk in front of me, I may not follow, don’t walk behind me, I may not lead/Walk beside me just be my friend/You said, we live in the hearts we leave behind”.  Undoubtedly, that was written in contemplation and reflection of the passing of Chasen.  “Eulogy” leads into a track entitled “Ghost Writing”.  The vocals are heartfelt and full of harmony for a band of this genre.  I also love the dual guitar attack of Anthony and Davis as it showcases that Damian Anthony is a welcome addition to Vaultry.  The rhythm section pulsates and I am blown away by the seamless transitions in tempo changes, which are necessary in a band of this particular genre.

This album is full of heartfelt moments where you are literally left grieving in pain for the loss of their comrade.  For example, the track “Hospice” was written at Chasen Fraser’s hospice residence at Royal Jubilee Hospital in Victoria, BC.  The lyrical content of this track really showcases the courageous fight that Chasen fought in the battle of lymphoma.  You felt the pain, yet it sounded so powerful with the gang vocals of Vaultry as they sang, “They say I’m not coming home again/I’m sleeping on my deathbed”.  Another heartfelt moment is in the song “Communion”.  “Communion” is where Vaultry showcases their diverse talent as a band by offering up some spoken word poetry with tremendous drumming and harmonics on the guitars.  It is that moment where you literally stop what you’re doing, pause for that moment, and really contemplate life’s purpose and the like.  The poetic language is impeccable in this track, you can feel the love that Vaultry had for their fallen comrade.

Heartfelt, courageous, and emotional.  Combine these attributes with the musicianship that really tells a story and you get a sledgehammer thrust to the gut in Vaultry.  Not often an album about leaves me a broken mess, but “Eulogy” by Vaultry certainly does that, and that’s exactly what music is supposed to do, and that is stir the emotions and stir the soul, Vaultry has written its own novel on how to convey emotions in the music and the lyrical content.  10 out of 10 stars!

“Eulogy” by Vaultry

  1.  Eulogy
  2.  Ghost Writing
  3.  Wildfire
  4.  The Devil & The Deep
  5.  Hospice
  6.  Cold Tea
  7.  A Letter To A Dead Friend
  8.  Painted In Grey
  9.  Communion
  10.  Blindfolds

“Ghost Writing” by Vaultry

Check out Vaultry at the following locations:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.