It is always amazing to watch an artist evolve over time, and that artist that I’m referring to is Tarja, as on Friday, November 17th, she is releasing “from Spirits And Ghosts(Score For A Dark Christmas)” via earMUSIC.  Tarja is offering a different interpretation on various Christmas and holiday classics.

Tarja, who was the original singer for Nightwish, has such an operatic and angelic voice that finds that delicate balance between bringing the reverance and the melancholy of the Christmas season to the listener.  In this album, Tarja offers a different take and a different interpretation of various Christmas classic songs from what the media tends to portray.  The media tends to portray families all gathering together around the fireplace or around the Christmas tree, being all jolly singing songs that either celebrate the birth of Christ or songs about Santa Claus, and families gathering together in their pajamas and opening Christmas presents, and how everything is so perfect.  In this album, Tarja, through her voice and artistry, wants to mourn with the listener in understanding that the holiday season can be a season of melancholy instead of joy and a season where there are children and families around the world that are doing without for Christmas instead of celebrating the blessings that should be bestowed upon them.

The album starts off with the Christmas classic “O Come, O Come Emmanuel”.  In this track, instead of it sounding triumphant, there is a different melancholic take on the track, it sounds mournful instead of joyful and through the artistry and the operatic voice that Tarja has, she carries the song where it there is that melancholic tension that suddenly fills the room, and the work that Emmy award winning film composer Tim Dooley did with the production of British producer Tim Palmer, the strings sound heavy and sorrowful, and even the xylophone and bells even sound like the weight of the world is on their shoulders.

“Deck The Halls” is a classic Christmas song that is popular for carolers as it brings people to be full of holiday cheer, however, Tarja offers a sorrowful, slowed down take of the track, which makes it sound like there is that feeling of loss during the holiday season.  I find the original to be absolutely obnoxious, however, Tarja’s take is beautiful and breathtaking.  “Pie Jesu” showcases the blending of the vocals where it sounds like it belongs in an opera or a chamber choir, and it sounds absolutely mysterious and haunting, yet beautiful at the same time.  “Amazing Grace” is reflective and contemplative as it causes the listener to pause and examine themselves and their priorities in life.

A lot of people celebrate this season for many reasons, whether it’s their faith, their family coming together for a joyous time, or for the celebration of giving and receiving gifts, however, Tarja offers a melancholic take for this holiday season with this collection of Christmas classics.  It really showcases Tarja as an artist in every sense of the world and one of the world’s most esteemed vocalists, and the production in the music offers a whole new take on the Christmas classics.  Instead of the joy that the holiday season brings, Tarja wants the listener to remember the ones that go through sadness, loss of loved ones, and the neglected ones this holiday season.   This album gets 10 out of 10 stars for it to be a totally fresh new take on the Christmas classics, check out the track listing below!

“from Spirits and Ghosts(Score for a Dark Christmas) by Tarja

  1.  O Come, O Come Emmanuel
  2.  Together
  3.  We Three Kings
  4.  Deck The Halls
  5.  Pie Jesu
  6.  Amazing Grace
  7.  O Tannenbaum
  8.  Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
  9.  God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
  10.  Feliz Navidad
  11.  What Child Is This
  12.  We Wish You A Merry Christmas

Check out the music video to “O Come, O Come Emmanuel” below!

Check out Tarja on tour in support of the album!

Saturday, November 18th- Casa de la Cultura Ecuatorian in Quito, Ecuador

Tuesday, November 21st- Centro de Arte MDQ in Mar del Plata, Argentina

Wednesday, November 22nd- El Circulo in Mendoza, Argentina

Friday, November 24th- XL Abasto in Cordoba, Argentina

Saturday, November 25th- Luna Park in Buenos Aires, Argentina

Monday, November 27th- La Trastienda in Montevideo, Uruguay

Sunday, December 10th- Vystaviste Flora Olomouc a.s. in Olomouc, Czech Republic

Monday, December 11th- Vystaviste Flora Olomouc a.s. in Olomouc, Czech Republic

Tuesday, December 12th- Kongresove centrum Praha in Prague, Czech Republic

Thursday, December 21st- October Palace in Kyiv, Ukraine

Friday, September 7th, 2018- Prog Power USA XIX Metal Festival at Center Stage- The Loft in Atlanta, Georgia

For tickets and further information to any of the shows listed above, click here!

Find Tarja at the following locations:


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.