On December 8th, Rock Fuel Media released the DVD package of “Live At Wembley” by legendary pop/reggae group Culture Club.  The DVD package features the performance of Culture Club where their career comes complete circle, in front of their London, England hometown fans with the four original members of Culture Club with backup singers and a full backup band in tow.  However, they still have a lot to offer based upon this collection.

The CD/DVD/Blu Ray package features a career spanning collection of hits that includes a raucous cover of “Bang A Gong”, originally done by T. Rex and it includes the originals Boy George, Jon Moss, Roy Hay, and Mikey Craig.  They had a widely successful 60 show reunion tour run in 2016 and this culminates with the final show on the tour at London’s Wembley Arena, and viewers can tell that Culture Club was stoked to be back performing in front of their hometown fans.

Culture Club takes their fans on an epic journey of their 35 year career in a celebration of unity, love, peace, and sobriety(in Boy George’s case) with their hits sounding piping-hot fresh, especially with world class talented backup singers and an amazing sounding brass section in tow.  Incorporating these elements in the arrangements adds a totally different sound that fans of Culture Club wouldn’t generally expect, which makes their hits such as “Church Of The Poison Mind”, “It’s A Miracle”, “I’ll Tumble For Ya”, and “Time(Clock Of The Heart)” sound full and jazzy, full of soul and sensual music.  In terms of the performance, Boy George continues to show the world that he was born to be on that stage while the band gels with Boy George’s charismatic and flamboyant ways as a frontman.

This collection is a pleasant surprise even if one was never a fan of Culture Club or Boy George as a solo artist.  I wasn’t sure what to expect in this one, but it’s a trip through nostalgia, yet the arrangements sound lively and full especially with the incorporation of the backup singers and the brass section in the band.  In terms of the video quality, it captures the band in fun moments where Boy George gets down with the female backup singers, and where each member, whether in Culture Club or the touring band, gets to shine in the spotlight.  The music is clearly heard and the only time one hears the audience is between the songs.  There was a genuine affection and appreciation for the hometown of London throughout this set and the cover of “Bang A Gong” by T. Rex was a most wonderful way to send the audience home happy.

If you’re wanting some 80’s nostalgia with a full band sound and you missed out on the reunion tour of Culture Club, then you need to pick up this package.  Madness To Creation gives it a solid 8 out of 10 stars for the live performance, audio quality, and that the songs sound extremely fresh.  Here is the track listing below!

  1.  Church Of The Poison Mind
  2.  It’s A Miracle
  3.  I’ll Tumble For Ya
  4.  Move Away
  5.  Everything I Own
  6.  Black Money
  7.  Time (Clock Of The Heart)
  8.  Like I Used To
  9.  Different Man
  10.  Miss Me Blind
  11.  Do You Really Want To Hurt Me
  12.  Victims
  13.  The War Song
  14.  Karma Chameleon
  15.  Bang A Gong (T. Rex cover)

Fans can pick up a copy of “Live At Wembley at Amazon here!

Culture Club has several tour dates coming up!  Check them out below!

Saturday, December 9th- Perth Arena in Perth, Australia (w/Thompson Twins, Human League, and Eurogliders)

Monday, December 11th- Star Theatre in 1 Vista Exchange, Singapore

Friday, January 26th- K-Earth Totally 80’s Live at Honda Center in Anaheim, California (also appearing, Adam Ant, The Bangles, Violent Femmes, Salt ‘N’ Pepa, The Romantics, Tone Loc, A Flock Of Seagulls, Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five, Dramarama, Sugarhill Gang, Haircut 100)

Saturday, January 27th- 80’s Weekend at Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, California

For tickets and further information for any of the shows listed above, click here!

“Black Money” by Culture Club “Live At Wembley”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.