Monday, October 25

The Outfit’s Self-Titled Record, no gimmicks just rock!

Out of Chicago, Illinois is a band that is prepared to take a hold of the baton that fellow Chicago band Chevelle is going to pass on to continue on the loud and proud tradition of rock music in Chicago, and that band is The Outfit.  The Outfit released their self-titled record via Pavement Entertainment on February 2nd and it is a barnburner!

The Outfit is a four-piece band composed of Mark Nawara, Matt Nawara, Mike Gorman, and Andy Mitchell.  The recruited Matt Mercado at Sonic Palace Studios in Oak Park, Illinois for the engineering process and they also recruited world famous Grammy nominated producer in Ulrich Wild(Pantera, Static-X, White Zombie, Deftones, and Breaking Benjamin) to produce their self-titled record.  They take their brand of no-frills, no gimmicks allowed rock and bring about some authentic songwriting to go along with some infectious riffs that mixes riffs reminiscent of the Foo Fighters with somewhat of a 90’s alternative/grunge feel to it.

The album starts off with a track called “Wire”.  “Wire” is appropriately titled because of the riffs that kick your teeth down your throat and a rhythm section that pounds and pulsates that could revive the breathless.  “TKO” brings about the reminiscence of a childhood and about taking risks, it offers a mid-tempo rhythm section that is bound to be a classic if it falls into the right hands.  The song that is absolutely putting The Outfit on the map is “Soldier Boy”.  The riffs are insane and it is an ode to the American soldier, the bridge in the song has a great change in the transition combined with the air raid sirens that have become all too familiar for the American soldier.  The vocal prowess is evident in this track as it is plain to see why it’s been blowing up on Sirius XM radio along with being a stadium anthem!

The Outfit’s approach to their self titled record showcases that they are here to stay as this record is an early candidate for record of the year.  Rock has been waiting for that post-grunge band that is all about the rock, and rock has to wait no longer with The Outfit.  Madness To Creation gives this a 9 out of 10 star rating!  Check out the track listing below!

  1.  Wire
  2.  Lucky One
  3.  TKO
  4.  Soldier Boy
  5.  Unfolds
  6.  Just As One
  7.  Miracle
  8.  No Lights On
  9.  Hot Love

On Saturday, April 14th, The Outfit will be performing at the RocHaus in West Dundee, Illinois with special guests Kevin Lee & The Kings.  For tickets and further information, click here!

Find The Outfit at the following locations:

ICYMI:  Check out our interview with Mark Nawara of The Outfit here!

1 Comment

  • […] Chicago rock band The Outfit have entered Sonic Palace Studios in Chicago, Illinois, to record the follow-up to their successful debut album, The Outfit, released February 2, 2018. The new album is being recorded by Chicago area veteran musician Matt Mercado, with vocal tracking being handled by Larry Elya at Mind’s Eye Studios in Glendale, Arizona. Mixing and mastering will be handled by Grammy nominated, multi-platinum producer and mixer Ulrich Wild (Pantera, Static-x, White Zombie, Deftones, and Breaking Benjamin) in Los Angeles, California. The band hopes to follow the success of last year’s album and lead single “Soldier Boy,” which received airplay all over rock radio stations. “Soldier Boy” peaked at number 34 on Billboard’s Mainstream Rock Radio Chart. Drummer Mark Nawara says, “We were able to test a lot of the new songs out on the road live this fall and we received a great reaction from the crowds. We’re really excited about getting the new album out there. It’s pure in-your-face rock.” The Outfit brings you straight up rock with catchy hooks and an aggressive sound. The band won over many crowds last year opening and headlining several shows throughout the Midwest. The band consists of Chicago veteran musicians Matt and Mark Nawara, along with Mike Gorman, and singer/songwriter Andy Mitchell. In between recording, the band has confirmed several Midwest tour dates, including a stop at ROCK USA Festival in Oshkosh, Wisconsin. No release date has been set yet for the new album. ICYMI:  Check out our view of The Outfit’s self-titled record here. […]

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: