On February 2nd, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania’s own Rausch released their album entitled “Book II”.  If you’re a fan of groups like Pink Floyd, Spock’s Beard, Porcupine Tree, and Dream Theater, then Rausch could be for you.

Rausch is composed of Doug Rausch on keyboards/vocals, Joe Fine on bass, Gary Wehrkamp on guitars, and Chris Ruffini on drums.  The thing is, Rausch has been personally invited by legendary keyboardist Jordan Rudess(Dream Theater) at his Key Fest, Wehrkamp is known for his tremendous guitar playing with Shadow Gallery and Outside The Wall, and Ruffini with his timely precise drumming brings about that full-on sound that Rausch possesses throughout the music.

The keys are absolutely lush along with the coupling of Doug Rausch’s voice in the opening track entitled “Greener Grass”, the song talks about looking for “the greener grass on the other side”, how there has to be something out there that’s better than what they currently have.  We must take you into the song “Drain”.  The song entitled “Drain” is an absolute opus where it takes you on a guitar virtuoso joyride in a few measures, and where it takes you on a journey on what it’s like to feel mental anguish and where it seems like it takes the listener through the mindset of what it’s like going through a severe mental breakdown.  The thing is, Rausch as a whole sounds absolutely tight and crisp throughout the track, where it doesn’t feel like you’re listening to a song that clocks in at 10 minutes and 37 seconds, it takes you on that journey.

Emotionally, the song “Irked” really takes you through the emotions on how someone literally cannot take it anymore, and Rausch seems to call out that person that pretends that they have it all together but he can see through their facade.  The keyboard/programming coupled with the jazz like drumming and the subtle guitar tones in the instrumental break make it sound haunting and mysterious.  It is especially glorious on how it picks up.

Rausch is that band where you think you are in the middle of nowhere and suddenly you look to the right while you’re driving and you find that hidden treasure that is waiting to be discovered.  In the world where a lot of rock bands sound the same, Rausch dares to be different, and they are glorious for that.  Madness To Creation rates “Book II” by Rausch a 9 out of 10 stars.

Here is the track listing below.

  1.  Greener Grass
  2.  Swansong
  3.  Drain
  4.  Irked
  5.  Good Day
  6.  The End
  7.  Time Out
  8.  Speechless
  9.  Slow Suite:  II. Isolation

Fans can find Rausch at the following locations:






Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.