Out of Milwaukee, Wisconsin comes a band that takes a mad chef with ADHD, and puts the storytelling sensibilities of The Wonder Years, with the pop-punk feel of Blink 182, and adds the musicianship of Goldfinger, while turning on the blender to total crush mode, and comes up with the concoction known as Direct Hit.  On October 26th, Direct Hit released the album “Crown Of Nothing” via Fat Wreck Records.

“Crown Of Nothing” seems to be a concept album that tells the tale of a relationship that is so filled with trauma that the victim ends up questioning everything from his faith to his existence.  With Direct Hit, you legitimately don’t know what you’re going to get as they certainly push the envelope while experimenting with new arrangements and new sounds into the music.

“Crown Of Nothing” starts off with the appropriately titled track “Different Universe”.  It has hollow drum fills and a haunting piano arrangement with lyrics that talk about an individual seemingly down on their luck with absolutely no hope at all.  Direct Hit certainly makes themselves stand out with their harmonies along with their unconventional arrangements.  “Different Universe” sounds like 80’s New Wave music colliding with today’s style of punk rock music.

Direct Hit keeps us guessing with offering fuzz bass in “Bad Answer”, a circle pit inducing mosh pit in “Pain/Boredom”, and catchy pop music in “Disassemble”.  Direct Hit keeps the concepts behind the story going by having the character question everything including their faith and their existence from the relationship gone horribly wrong.  Overall, this is quite an enjoyable listen that is catchy as all get out as Madness To Creation rates it an 8 out of 10 stars.  Here is the track listing below.

  1.  Different Universe
  2.  Welcome To Heaven
  3.  Pain/Boredom
  4.  Altered States
  5.  Perfect Black
  6.  Bad Answer
  7.  Life In Hell
  8.  Something We Won’t Talk About
  9.  You & I(Are Nothing But Lies)
  10.  The Problem
  11.  Bliss Addiction
  12.  Losing Faith
  13.  Disassemble
  14.  Heaven’s End

On Saturday, January 26th, Direct Hit has a gig with The Copyrights at Reggie’s Rock Club in Chicago, Illinois.  For tickets and further information on the show, click here.

Fans can find Direct Hit at the following locations:





Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.