“Congregation” by The Afghan Whigs was released in 1992 after Nirvana’s legendary album “Nevermind”.  Some people look to these two albums as key players in keeping Sub Pop Records afloat.  With this album, The Afghan Whigs took a page out of playbooks of The Replacements and Husker Du, with a touch of Mudhoney, and created their own brand of indie grunge.  This album never charted, but “Congregation” would catapult The Afghan Whigs to some mainstream success thanks to a record contract with Elektra Records.  Here are some highlights from the album:

  1.  There are really no fillers on this album to speak of.  “Let Me Lie To You” showcases a different side away from tongue-in-cheek nature of The Afghan Whigs, and that is the side of a bit more serious, melancholic vibe of the band.  The drum fills provided by one Steve Earle are quite tasty.
  2.  “This Is My Confession” is my favorite song on the album.  The guitars by Rick Dulli and Rick McCollum really paved the way for groups such as Spacehog, Toad The Wet Sprocket, and Dinosaur Jr. to really emphasize musicianship in their brand of indie grunge.
  3.  I would’ve never expected The Afghan Whigs to cover “The Temple” from Andrew Lloyd Webber’s production “Jesus Christ Superstar”.  The guitars have very much a classic rock feel to the music and it showcases their fandom of Jesus Christ Superstar along with putting their own stamp on it.  John Curley’s bassline in this track is thicker than molasses, believe me!
  4.  Miles Iz Ded is a hidden track in which Sub Pop Records recently re-released the music video in 2017.  It talks about alcohol and the bad decisions that comes with it.  The music video depicts of a couple making out in one bathroom stall, with a girl appearing to be dead in the next bathroom stall, and a guy puking his guts out in the last bathroom stall.

The cool thing about this album is that although it never charted on the Billboard 200, you immediately knew that this album was a breakthrough album for the band, along with paving the way for those that subscribe to late 90’s alternative rock and even today’s brand of indie/garage rock.  Based on “Conjure Me” and “Turn On The Water”, you knew that The Afghan Whigs were destined for stardom.  Madness To Creation is saying this is the best album so far by them with a 9 out of 10 star effort!  Here is the track listing.

  1.  Her Against Me
  2.  I’m Her Slave
  3.  Turn On The Water
  4.  Conjure Me
  5.  Kiss The Floor
  6.  Congregation
  7.  This Is My Confession
  8.  Dedicate It
  9.  The Temple(originally on Jesus Christ Superstar by Andrew Lloyd Webber)
  10.  Let Me Lie To You
  11.  Tonight
  12.  Miles Iz Ded(hidden track)

Fans can find The Afghan Whigs at the following locations:



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.