John Diva & The Rockets Of Love are releasing their first album entitled “Mama Said Rock Is Dead” on February 8th.  John has been referred to as a blonde Adonis. What romance writer could resist checking him out? He is certainly pretty enough as are a couple of his band members, and a couple of the members of his Rockets Of Love group look more rugged, like bouncers at a biker bar.  He is pretty, not handsome, although that has no effect on his voice, it’s certainly will affect his fans. Some women love pretty boys with hair blowing in the wind.

I was surprised when the very first song I listened to, “Just A Night Away,” sung by this heavy metal rocker started out as a ballad.  Well, only the first minute or so was, but it gave me a chance to really hear his voice. John Diva has an extremely strong, smooth voice, which was very pleasing.  I love ballads and this didn’t disappoint. But don’t get me wrong, if you want that 80’s Hair Metal sound, he brings it later in the song as the tempo kicks up, and his voice stays just as smooth.  Then he keeps your heart pounding throughout the whole album as it all rocks hard and fast!

John’s “Mama Said Rock Is Dead,” (which is the title of his album) but she and anyone else who thought so is wrong.  So wrong! It’s hard to believe this is a new addition to rock and not an album from the 1980s. Every song had an old familiar “I’ve danced to this before sound.” I don’t mean it sounds copied or old, these are fresh new lyrics with a polished familiar beat.  This album features 12 songs with titles like “Long Legs,” “Dance Dirty,” “Whiplash,” “Rock ‘N’ Roll Heaven,” or the song “Toxic.” My personal favorite, of all the songs on this amped up collection of music, is “Wild Life.” I may not know hair bands from my hairbrush, but I think you just won’t believe this isn’t old Hair Band Solid Gold.  Check out “Rock ‘N’ Roll Heaven” here.

As usual, when I give a review I try to find out a little more about the band and listen to some of their other music.  I had to go to YouTube for this one, but I found several cover songs in the vein of Scorpions, Whitesnake, Bon Jovi, Van Halen, Alice Cooper and the like.  They have a video of Guns and Roses “Sweet Child of Mine,” and also Journey’s “Don’t Stop Believing” that is very good! The band Rockets Of Love is made up of aptly named members J.J. Love, Remmie Martin, Lee Stingray Jr., and Snake Rocket.

Their 2019 Kissin’ Dynamite Tour shows a very busy schedule of shows for several months at a time.  However, U.S.A. fans will have to wait as they are in Germany. If you would like to check out more you can go to or check out their Facebook page at  Remember February 8th, and get the album for your Valentine, or maybe just for yourself!

“Mama Said Rock Is Dead” by John Diva & The Rockets of Love Tracklisting:

  1.  Whiplash
  2.  Lolita
  3.  Rock ‘N’ Roll Heaven
  4.  Wild Life
  5.  Blinded
  6.  Dance Dirty
  7.  Just A Night Away
  8.  Fire Eyes
  9.  Get It On
  10.  Long Legs
  11.  Toxic
  12.  Rocket of Love

Check out the music video to “Lolita” below! 


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.