Sony Music announces the release of CAPTIVE STATE (ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK) with music by renowned film composer and newly-signed Sony Music Masterworks artist ROB SIMONSEN (The UpsideThe Front Runner, Life of Pi, 500 Days of Summer).  Available everywhere March 15, the soundtrack features music from the thriller, starring John Goodman and Vera Farmiga.  Captive State also debuted in theaters on Friday, March 15th.   
Rupert [Wyatt] wanted to experiment and explore something that sounded different from the very beginning,” composer ROB SIMONSEN says of the soundtrack.  “Our journey was truly an artistic collaboration.”
Directed by Rupert Wyatt and co-written by Wyatt and Erica Beeny, Participant Media’s Captive Statedistributed by Focus Features,takes place in a Chicago neighborhood nearly a decade after it’s been occupied by extra-terrestrial forces.Starring John Goodman and Vera Farmiga, Captive State explores the lives on both sides of the conflict – both the collaborators and the dissidents.
Having learned to play the piano at a young age and with an educational background in jazz, electronic and traditional orchestral music, Sony Music Masterworks artist ROB SIMONSEN has lent his scoring talents to a wide range of film projects.Since the early 2000s, he’s worked on an expansive list of film soundtracks, among them The Front Runner, Love, SimonNerveFoxcatcher, The Way, Way Back and The Spectacular Now.Under the apprenticeship of composer Mychael Danna, Simonsen worked on films like 500 Days Of Summerand Moneyball, in addition to collaborating with Danna on his Academy Award-winning score for Ang Lee’s Life Of Pi.In addition to his lengthy catalogue of film scores, Simonsen is the founder of The Echo Society, a Los Angeles-based non-profit artist collective.Surrounding himself with a network of like-minded artists, Simonsen founded The Echo Society in order to connect, inspire, challenge and enrich the creative community in Los Angeles by sponsoring live, professional sonic/visual performances and offering immersive and interactive audience experiences.Inspired by a lifetime of making music and emboldened by his work with The Echo Society, Rob Simonsen will step out from behind the screen for the release of his solo debut with Sony Music Masterworks in 2019.
  1. Legislators
  2. Captive State
  3. Today’s The Day
  4. The Phoenix
  5. Specials
  6. Courier
  7. Wicker Park
  8. I Said Go
  9. Mulligan Chase
  10. Life After Death
  11. Soldier Field
  12. Chaos
  13. The Path to Escape
  14. Pilsen
  15. Bus Station
  16. Closing In
  17. Bugged
  18. The Cell
  19. Deportation
  20. The Phoenix Rises
  21. Home (feat. Mija) 

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.