It was a spine-breaking brutally amazing 2018 for Vatican.  We saw them tour the country and back in November 2018 they released their album “Sole Impulse”.  I hate that I’m late to the party on this one but I’m still at the party with Vatican.

The album is bone-crushing and it definitely takes no prisoners.  While this album is predominantly hardcore, there are some elements of math and deathcore as evident in the track “Color My Grave Mine”.  The blastbeats, breakdowns, and the sudden shifts in tempo makes Vatican stick out in the hardcore scene.  The title track, “Sole Impulse”, showcases those breakdowns and will cause the listener to get whiplash from headbanging so much as they take all of their frustrations out in the pit.  “Cognition Rendered Dead” showcases elements of progression which adds those extra ingredients to make Vatican one of the most diverse bands in hardcore today.  “Beneath One” showcases some of the best vocals in hardcore today, the screams/growls sends shivers down a person’s spine.

“Sole Impulse” is certainly not for the faint of heart, but it can be described in two words as a whole, “freaking awesome”.  Vatican holds the keys for the future of hardcore with “Sole Impulse” as Madness To Creation rates this album a solid 9 out of 10 stars.  Check out the track listing below:

  1.  Sole Impulse
  2.  Blades in Sepia
  3.  Thirty-One Staples
  4.  Beneath One
  5.  Color My Grave Mine
  6.  Cognition Rendered Dead
  7.  Assemblage
  8.  Cyanide Divinity
  9.  Ex Nihilo
  10.  Your Prison Within
  11.  Xero Line Crisis

Check out the music video for “Beneath One” below:

On May 1st and May 2nd, Vatican will be a part of The Rumble 2020 at Cobra Lounge in Chicago, Illinois.  Featured on the bill is The Killer, Harms Way, and Kingnine.

Fans can find Vatican at the following locations:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.