“Lead Sails + Paper Anchor” by Atreyu was THE album that got them noticed in the mainstream rock world.  The song “Becoming The Bull” was featuring in the Madden ’08 video game and was also used to promote commercials for UFC on Spike TV.  The album peaked at No. 8 on the Billboard 200 and was the No. 1 album on the Billboard Rock charts.  The song “Falling Down” peaked at No.3 on the Billboard Mainstream Rock chart.  According to Brandon Saller on the livestream, “Lead Sails + Paper Anchor” was the first album to break into the mainstream rock charts.

The livestream performance brought new life to their classic album.  The band just feels fresh with having Brandon Saller take over on vocals while “Porter” brings about the “anchor” with his unclean vocals.  Songs such as “Doomsday”, “Falling Down”, “When Two Become One” and “Becoming The Bull” all brought about a fresh anthemic feel to it, and it was awesome seeing a ballad side when they closed the set with “Lead Sails(And A Paper Anchor)”.  You can tell that Atreyu really enjoyed playing some songs that they never played before live, and shows that play an album through in its entirety really allows the listener to get further insight on the album.

All these years later, and Atreyu is still the premiere metalcore band to see live.  They are not ready to pass on the metalcore baton yet.

Here is the setlist from the night:

  1.  Doomsday
  2.  Honor
  3.  Falling Down
  4.  Becoming The Bull
  5.  When Two Are One
  6.  Lose It
  7.  No One Cares
  8.  Can’t Happen Here
  9.  Slow Burn
  10.  Blow
  11.  Lead Sails (And A Paper Anchor)

Fans can check out Atreyu at the following locations:



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.