Earth & Sky

On Friday, September 27, Of Mice & Men released their sixth studio album Earthandsky via Rise Records.  The band released several singles, including “Mushroom Cloud” and “How to Survive”, without having definite plans for an album announced.  However, fans of the band should be thrilled with this newest release! The band displays all of the elements which has made it a force on the rock scene for nearly a decade now!

As it should, the title track “Earth & Sky” promotes the message of the album.  Singer/bassist Aaron Pauley says the title track,”…is as song about resilience.  It’s about understanding that you can rise above whatever it is that keeps trying to drag you down, no matter what.”  Please check out the official video for “Earth & Sky” below:

Overall, this is a very good production from Of Mice & Men and one of my favorite albums from them.  While all the tracks are, at the very least, solid the other standouts are the aforementioned “Mushroom Cloud” and “How to Survive” as well as “Deceiver/Deceived.”  These songs in particular possess the heavy sound and mighty guitar riffs that fans of Of Mice & Men have enjoyed for nearly ten years now. Lyrically, “Deceiver/Deceived” is the strongest song on the album.  It details the struggle with how a distorted ‘truth” is becoming a reality in our society and people’s habit of blaming others for being deceived instead of evaluating why they don’t seek answers themselves. The videos for “Mushroom Cloud” and “How to Survive” are available as well:

Overall, this is a very good album and one of my favorites of 2019.  I rank this album as a 9/10 and hope Of Mice & Men continues to challenge societal norms in their heavy, aggressive manner for years to come!!

Track Listing:

  1. Gravedancer
  2. As We Suffocate
  3. Taste Of Regret
  4. Mushroom Cloud
  5. Pieces
  6. Deceiver/Deceived
  7. Earth & Sky
  8. The Mountain
  9. Meltdown
  10. Linger
  11. How To Survive

The Earth Tour dates with For the Fallen Dreams, Thousand Below, and Bloodbather:

10/9 — Philadelphia, PA — Voltage Lounge

10/11 — Virginia Beach, VA — Elevation 27

10/12 — Greensboro, NC — The Blind Tiger

10/13 — Manchester, TN — Exit 111 Festival

10/15 — Houston, TX — Warehouse Live

10/16 — Austin, TX — Come And Take It Live

10/17 — Dallas, TX — Cub Dada

10/19 — Mesa, AZ — The Underground

And lastly, please explore more about the band at the following social media platforms!







Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.