On August 23rd, legendary 90’s alternative pop-rockers Vertical Horizon graced the stage at Musikfest Cafe in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania with 18 and Counting opening up the show.  Vertical Horizon played their classics while letting the audience know that they were going to be working on some new music.

Musikfest Cafe is a neat venue that provides an intimate setting.  The venue is strewn with bar stools and table, which almost provides an Austin City Limits type of feel to it.  The sound in the venue is crisp and there is certainly not a bad seat in the house.

18 and Counting played a solid set as they warmed up the crowd for Vertical Horizon.  They announced to the audience that they have a record release show on September 14th with Stephanie Johnston opening up for 18 and Counting.  The song that stood out to me was the track “Where The Truth Lies”.  After their 30 minute set, Vertical Horizon was next to grace the stage.

Vertical Horizon showed that they are ready to wow audiences again with their catchy melodies and their alternative pop/rock sensibilities in their arrangements.  Frontman Matt Scannell has a presence about him and doesn’t need to do a lot of coaxing as they got the crowd moving and singing with their opening hit “We Are”.  You could tell that they were appreciative of the crowd responding well to cuts off of “The Lost Mile” record with songs such as “I’m Gonna Save You” and “One Day”.  The crowd really leapt to their feet when Vertical Horizon jammed out to songs such as “You’re A God” and “Everything You Want”.

I would’ve expected them to close out the night with “Everything You Want”, but Vertical Horizon returned to a surprise encore with songs “Broken Over You” and “Finding Me”.  The crowd responded quite positively when Matt Scannell announced to the crowd that Vertical Horizon was working on a new record.  Overall, it was a night of nostalgia and a night of awesome music.  Here is the setlist:

  1.  We Are
  2.  The Lucky One
  3.  Send It Up
  4.  All Of You
  5.  One Day
  6.  I’m Still Here
  7.  Miracle
  8.  Echo (acoustic)
  9.  Give You Back
  10.  Lovestruck
  11.  Best I Ever Had(Grey Sky Morning)
  12.  I’m Gonna Save You
  13.  You’re A God
  14.  Everything You Want
  15.  Broken Over You
  16.  Finding Me

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • Photo Credit:  Kim Casper at Garden State Band Connection

Vertical Horizon has several gigs coming up.  Check out the gigs below:

Thu. 9/19- The Island in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee

Fri. 9/20- The Lawrenceburg Event Center in Lawrenceburg, Indiana (w/Eve 6 and Fastball)

Sat. 9/28- Dash City Rocks at BB&T Ballpark in Winston-Salem, North Carolina

For tickets and further information, click here.

Fan can find Vertical Horizon at the following locations:




Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.